Project 52 : Personal – The Why

I had a plan.  I knew what I was going to blog about for today’s project 52 blog post and it fell right through the cracks.

So, here we are.  I was up late last night trying to figure out what I would blog about with my cup of coffee this morning.  And it hit me.  I’ve been digging – and here’s what I’ve found.

As part of the re-branding process I’m going through right now (as part of my 2013 goals!) I’m being forced to dig deep.  I’m forced to dig into my heart and really think about the reason I’m here.  The reason I’m working as a full time photographer.  The reason I’ve been pouring my soul into this business for 4 years.

I didn’t set out on this path as a child.  I wasn’t one of those genius’ that knew exactly what I wanted to do when I was 6 years old.  If you had asked me at 6? I probably would have said I wanted to be a ballerina or a gymnast – I’m pretty sure that was what I was into at that age.  If there’s anything in this world that I know is true – my lack of dance skills would have left me a starving dancer/gymnast at the ripe age of 21.

When I sat down earlier this week and dug deep and asked myself – Why?  Why do I do this?  What’s my purpose in this business?  The answer was simple.

Eternalizing memories.  Capturing moments.

That’s it.

A few short months ago I was working on a slideshow for my brother’s wedding and sorting through all of the photos from our childhood.  My parents were photo fanatics.  There are photos of everything from the first time my big brother met me to the time my friends and I dressed up in my Mom’s old prom gowns and danced around the house.  Oh and the pancake eating contest my girlfriends had on my 5th birthday.  It’s all there – all the memories – preserved like a time capsule.

I can’t really say how well I would remember those moments if my parents hadn’t grabbed the camera and clicked the shutter to preserve them.  But, now? Looking back at the pictures I can see exactly what was happening.  How I was feeling.  We had a great childhood – and there’s proof.  There are thousands of pictures of our adventures.






That’s it. That’s why I do this. Capturing moments that would otherwise be a fleeting memory. That’s why I’m here.

I don’t want my clients to think: “oh man, Melissa was so much fun – she was such a great person to work with – she is so talented”

No.  That’s not what it’s all about.  That’s not why I do what I do.  I’m not in it for the fame, definitely not in it for the fortune.  I’m in it for you.

I want my clients to think: “wow, look how daddy was looking at me when I walked down the aisle”, “look how much fun we had dancing all night”, “remember those first couple of weeks as parents? look at my dark circles.  It was so challenging but so rewarding”

Photos aren’t about perfection.  Yes, a perfect focus point and the perfect lighting makes a capture that much better… but it’s about the moment – and the preservation of that moment in history.  Your history.

7 thoughts on “Project 52 : Personal – The Why

  1. Natalie

    Yes, yes, yes, yes! I love you and this post! I love how you are realizing why you are so passionate about photography! And mostly – I just love you being you! Amazing!

    Reply
  2. Sarah

    Beautiful Liss! And that's exactly what you do, and amazingly I might add. So glad to call you a friend!
    XOXO,
    Sarah

    ps. those pictures are AHHHMAZING!

    Reply
  3. Anonymous

    You are truly a gifted photographer and such a good soul! I want to be more like you when I grow up! ~ Kristen G.

    Reply

Leave a comment